Press Club announces Best of Southeastern winners

The event T-shirt from the 2010 Southeast Journalism conference, which was hosted at Soutehastern Louisiana University. - Photo by Megan Mosher

The Press Club has announced the results of the third annual Best of Southeastern journalism competition, in which twelve communication students and five communication organizations placed in nineteen individual categories.

The Best of Southeastern competition is the Southeastern Louisiana University Department of Languages and Communication and the Press Club’s qualifying competition for the Southeast Journalism Conference.

For the competition, students turned in their previously published stories and pieces to the Press Club. Entries were then judged by faculty in the communication department. Winning entries have been sent on to compete in the Best of South competition under SEJC which will be held at Troy University in Alabama.

Students who placed and will represent Southeastern include:

  • Don Aime – Best News Reporter
  • Nick Bejeaux – Best Opinion/Editorial Writer
  • Patrick Costilow – Best News Graphic Designer
  • Aaron Gutekunst – Best Multimedia Journalist
  • Alexandra Hedrick – Best Feature Writer, Best Arts and Entertainment Writer and College Journalist of the Year
  • Anna Johnson – Best Special Events Reporter/Editor
  • Megan Mosher – Best Journalism Research Paper
  • Micah Potasnic – Best Radio Journalist
  • Christopher Robinson – Best Sports Writer
  • Rande Robinson – Best Press Photographer
  • Anna de Tiege – Best Television Journalist
  • Terry Trahan – Best Magazine Writer

Besides the individual students, KSLU will represent Southeastern as the best college radio station, the Lion’s Roar will represent as the best college newspaper, Southeastern U Reporter will represent as the best college website and the Southeastern Channel will represent as the best college TV station. In addition, the Press Club entered their First Amendment Awareness campaign in the Best Public Service Journalism category.

“I think Southeastern is going to perform well at Best of South as we have in the past,” said Dr. Amber Narro, Press Club advisor and Best of Southeastern coordinator. “And I think that we have a strong group of students going with us in the spring. I’m looking forward to a fun trip.”

SEJC is an annual three-day conference which offers student the unique opportunity to test their journalistic prowess in onsite competitions and attend informative workshops, learning from professional journalists currently working in the field. Results of the Best of South competition will be announced at a luncheon on the Friday of the three-day conference.

Students may still register attend the conference and participate in the onsite competitions, which will take place February 17-19, 2011. Registration for the conference is $60 and should be delivered to the Press Club no later than January.

For more information on the conference, please visit the conference website at For information on registration and deadlines, please contact Dr. Narro at, or Press Club President Alexandra Hedrick at

Pictures of previous SEJC trips may be viewed here.

Share Button