National Champions To Be Honored

The 1977 Lady Lions National Championship basketball team will be honored on Feb. 11 at the SLU-UNO basketball game at 3 p.m. at the University Center.

Pam Cook poses with AIAW championship trophy. (Photo courtesy of LionSports)

Each player will receive a pendant on which will hang a national championship “ring.” This represents quite a step-up from the t-shirts received by the team at the time of their win.

In 1977, Southeastern’s Lady Lions capped a 30-2 season with a win over Phillips University to claim the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) National Championship. It was the first and only national championship by any SLU team to date.

Queen Brumfield poses with AIAW championship trophy. (Photo courtesy of LionSports)

The Lady Lions broke 24 team single season and single game records including a team average of 99.1 points per game and a single game scoring record of 132 points. In a recent conversation, forward Pam Cook described the “run and gun offense” needed to reach these levels of performance, especially since there was no three point shot at the time.

Forward Pam Cook and Center Queen Brumfield were named as All-Americans for the second straight year. In addition, these two players were joined by Lady Lion teammate Sarah Williams in the first women’s All-American basketball game.

Team members were Monica Smith, Martha Lee, Janet Passman, Martha Lenoir, Shari Wronko, Delia Strickland, Pam Cook, Claudia Warren, Sarah Williams, Queen Brumfield, and Phoebe Smith. Linda Puckett and Mary A. Ellerman were the head and assistant coaches respectively.

Share Button